Bermuda is another world


This article at The Independent,with it’s accompanying photographs, brought back fond memories of my time in Bermuda in the 1980s.

Though I do not remember shorts and related attire costing as much as mentioned in the article.

BTW to my mind those shorts in the photos are red not pink. I actually owned some pink shorts back in the day. They were pink.

Actually reading the article caused me to remember buying my first pairs of Bermuda shorts. I had been in the island for a few days and realized such a purchase would be sensible. So I went down to one of the Front Street stores, Smiths I think it was to buy 2 pairs of shorts and some long socks. I looked for dark conservative shorts, but was persuaded by the salesman to buy a light, pale green pair and a sand colored pair in preference to dark Grey – with the words ‘But Sir, you are in Bermuda”

The title of this post is that of a well known local song. To my surprise I found a version on You Tube.

Have to admit that sometimes we used the phrase somewhat sardonically.

Some really good photos accompany the song of places and indeed some people I recognise from my time there.

I learned a lot whilst in the island. It was good experience.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

